The International Academy of Humanism was established to recognize distinguished humanists and to disseminate humanistic ideals and beliefs. The members of the academy, listed below, (1) are devoted to free inquiry in all fields of human endeavor, (2) are committed to a scientific outlook and the use of the scientific method in acquiring knowledge, and (3) uphold humanist ethical values and principles.

The academy's goals include furthering respect for human rights, freedom, and the dignity of the individual; tolerance of various viewpoints and willingness to compromise; commitment to social justice; a universalistic perspective that transcends national, ethnic, religious, sexual, and racial barriers; and belief in a free and open pluralistic and democratic society.

Statement by the International Academy of Humanism, March 2012 »

Laureates of the International Academy of Humanism

  1. Ruben Ardila (Univ. de Colombia—Colombia)
  2. Margaret Atwood (author—Canada)
  3. Etienne Baulieu (French Inst. of Health & Medical Rsch—France)
  4. Russell Blackford (philosopher and writer – Australia)
  5. Jacques Bouveresse (Collège de France—France)
  6. Paul D. Boyer (Univ. of California, Los Angeles—USA)
  7. Mario Bunge (McGill Univ.—Canada)
  8. Jean-Pierre Changeux (Collège de France—France)
  9. Patricia Smith Churchland (Univ. of California, San Diego—USA)
  10. Richard Dawkins (Oxford Univ.—UK)
  11. Daniel C. Dennett (Tufts University—USA)
  12. Alan Dershowitz (attorney—USA)
  13. Ann Druyan (author, lecturer, producer—USA)
  14. Luc Ferry (Sorbonne—France)
  15. Johan Galtung, (Univ. of Oslo—Norway)
  16. Maryanne Garry (psychologist—New Zealand)
  17. Murray Gell-Mann (Nobel Laureate, Sante Fe Inst.—USA)
  18. A.C. Grayling (philosopher and writer—UK)
  19. Rebecca Goldstein (philosopher and author, USA)
  20. Adolf Grünbaum (Univ. of Pittsburgh—USA)
  21. Jürgen Habermas (Univ. of Frankfurt—Germany)
  22. Alberto Hidalgo Tuñón (Univ. de Oviedo—Spain)
  23. Leo Igwe (human rights activist – Nigeria)
  24. Susan Jacoby (author – USA)
  25. Donald Johanson (Inst. of Human Origins—USA)
  26. Wendy Kaminer (lawyer and author—USA)
  27. Philip Kitcher (philosopher—USA)
  28. György Konrád (author—Hungary)
  29. Ioanna Kuçuradi (FISP—Turkey)
  30. Valerií A. Kuvakin (Moscow State Univ.—Russia)
  31. Stephen Law (University of London – UK)
  32. Richard Leakey (activist and conservationist—Kenya)
  33. Jean-Marie Lehn (Université Louis Pasteur—France)
  34. Elizabeth Loftus (professor, Univ. of California/Irvine—USA)
  35. Adam Michnik (author—Poland)
  36. Jonathan Miller (OBE, MD, author—UK)
  37. Maryam Namazie (activist, commentator and broadcaster—UK)
  38. Taslima Nasrin (MD, author—Bangladesh)
  39. Elaine Pagels (Harrington Spear Paine Professor of Religion, Princeton Univ.—USA)
  40. Jean-Claude Pecker (Collège de France—France)
  41. Steven Pinker (Harvard Univ.—USA)
  42. Carolyn Porco (Planetary scientist and chief imaging scientist on Cassini spacecraft —USA)
  43. Dennis Razis (MD—Greece)
  44. Salman Rushdie (author, MIT—USA)
  45. Fernando Savater (philosophy educator — Spain)
  46. Peter Singer (Princeton Univ.—USA)
  47. Wole Soyinka (Nobel Laureate, author—Nigeria)
  48. Jack Steinberger (physicist—Switzerland)
  49. Julia Sweeney (writer and performer—USA)
  50. Sir Keith Thomas (Oxford Univ.—UK)
  51. Rob Tielman (Univ. of Utrecht—Netherlands)
  52. Lionel Tiger (Rutgers Univ.—USA)
  53. Neil deGrasse Tyson (scientist, Hayden Planetarium—USA)
  54. Mario Vargas Llosa (author—Perú)
  55. Mourad Wahba (Univ. of Ain Shams—Egypt)
  56. James D. Watson (author, biologist—USA)
  57. Steven Weinberg (Univ. of Texas, Austin—USA)
  58. Edward O. Wilson (Harvard Univ.—USA)

Recently Deceased

  • Pieter Admiraal (MD—Netherlands) d. 2013
  • Shulamit Aloni (Minister of Education—Israel) d. 2014
  • Kurt Baier (Univ. of Pittsburgh—USA) d. 2010
  • Baruj Benacerraf (Dana-Farber Cancer Institute—USA) d. 2011
  • Sir Hermann Bondi (Churchill College—UK) d. 2005
  • Elena Bonner (human rights advocate—Russia) d. 2011
  • Vern Bullough (Univ. of Southern California—USA) d. 2005
  • Arthur C. Clarke (author, Sri Lanka) d. 2008
  • Bernard Crick (Univ. of London—UK) d. 2008
  • José M. R. Delgado (Univ. of Madrid—Spain) d 2011
  • Jean Dommanget (Royal Observatory—Belgium) d. 2014
  • Umberto Eco (Univ. of Bologna—Italy) d. 2016
  • Antony Flew (Reading Univ.—UK) d. 2010
  • Betty Friedan (founder, NOW—USA) d. 2006
  • Yves Galifret (Union Rationaliste—France) d 2013
  • Vitaly Ginzburg (Moscow State University—Russia) d. 2009
  • Margherita Hack (astronomer, astrophysicist—Italy) d. 2013
  • Herbert Hauptman (Nobel Laureate, State Univ. of New York—USA) d. 2011
  • Christopher Hitchens (author, lecturer—USA) d. 2011
  • Sergei˘ Kapitza (Moscow Inst. of Physics and Technology—Russia) d. 2012
  • George Klein (Karolinska Inst.—Sweden) d. 2018
  • Sir Harold W. Kroto (University of Sussex—UK) d. 2016
  • Gerald A. Larue (Univ. of Southern California—USA) d. 2014
  • Thelma Lavine (George Mason Univ.—USA) d. 2011
  • José Leite Lopes (Centro Brasileiro de Pesquisas Fisicas—Brazil) d. 2006
  • Paul MacCready (AeroVironment—USA) d. 2007
  • Conor Cruise O’Brien (Univ. of Dublin—Ireland) d. 2008
  • Marcel Roche (Inst. de Investigaciones Científicas—Venezuela) d. 2003
  • Richard Rorty (Univ. of Virginia—USA) d. 2007
  • Arthur Schlesinger Jr. (City Univ.—USA) d. 2007
  • Jens C. Skou (Univ. of Aarhus—Denmark) d. 2018
  • J. J. C. Smart (Australian National Univ.—Australia) d. 2012
  • Barbara Stanosz (Inst. “Ksia˛z·ka i Prasa”—Poland) d. 2014
  • Svetozar Stojanovi´c (Univ. of Belgrade—Yugoslavia) d. 2010
  • Thomas S. Szasz (State Univ. of New York—USA) d. 2012
  • Simone Veil (former president, European Parliament—France) d. 2018
  • Gore Vidal (author—USA) d. 2012
  • Kurt Vonnegut Jr. (author—USA) d. 2007
  • G. A. Wells (Univ. of London—UK) d. 2017

* Institutions listed for identification only.